Harry Wright International Swimming Lessons in Hong Kong - Harry Wright International


SCAA Team Dinner

A great night at the SCAA Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday 16th Feb 2019. It was a fantastic event, and hopefully the first of many to come in following years. Photos, including the video from Siobhan Haughey, are linked at the bottom of this news article!

We kicked the night off with a welcome from our MC's Steffany Ng and Henry Wright. Head Coach Mike Fasching was up next, with a short round up of some of the achievements of our amazing swimmers from the last year. Coach Mike then presented our outstanding swimmer awards for the 12&Under age group. To receive an outstanding swimmer award in the 12&U category swimmers need to swim Top 8 in an Age Group Championship event.

Next up we played round 1 of our extreme Rock, Paper, Scissors game. An elimination game with the winner of each table winning the shampoo and mesh bag table prizes provided by KCK Aquatics.

Our guest of honour was a past SCAA swimmer, and three time Hong Kong Olympian, Arthur Li. Arthur gave a speech about his experience in swimming, and some very good advice for all the young swimmers in the crowd. He shared that when he joined Barracuda's he was the slowest swimmer in the whole squad, swimming 50s when everyone else was swimming 100s, but within a year of hard work he was breaking Hong Kong Age Group Records. He emphasised the importance of consistency and working hard.

Arthur then presented our 13&Over outstanding swimmer, triathlon, and waterpolo awards. To receive an outstanding swimmer award in the 13&Over category swimmers need to medal at Age Group Championship events - this includes relays. To receive the outstanding Open Water Swimming, Triathlon and Waterpolo award athletes need to have a consistent training regime, perform well in races or games, and bring a good attitude to training.

We then continued the night with round 1 of the lucky draw. Some fantastic prizes given out to kick off the draw, including Mizuno goggles and Michael Phelps snorkel, Starbucks vouchers, Apple vouchers, Sogo vouchers, and some cash. Thanks to HWI Director of Swimming Jayne Wright for choosing round 1 of the lucky draw numbers.

Then it was time for round 2 of our extreme Rock, Paper, Scissors game. The winner from each table of part 1 of the game was asked to come up to the stage for more elimination games, until there was only one winner left - the prize was a pair of Mizuno goggles donated by KCK Aquatics.

We wrapped up round 2 of the lucky draw next. Prizes included more Sogo vouchers, cash, Intercontinental buffet vouchers, a Nintendo Switch, and the top prize of $3000 cash. Thank you to Mrs. Haughey for choosing round 2 of the lucky draw numbers.

We finished the night with a video from previous SCAA, and Hong Kong Olympic swimmer Siobhan Haughey. Siobhan spoke to us about the importance of passion in training, mindset, and the importance of consistency and training hard.

A huge thank you to all swimmers and parents for attending, the dinner wouldn't happen without all your daily hard work of course!

  • Thank you to Coach Kevin Chow for his organisation of a great night.
  • Thank you to Coach Franky for his organisation of swimmer awards.
  • Thank you to Coaches Steffany and Henry for MCing the night.
Thank you to everyone who sponsored lucky draw items, we had over $12,000 worth of prizes to give out on the night - see below for full list:

  • The So family and Zehner family for Apple and Starbucks vouchers.
  • The Lau family for ParknShop vouchers.
  • The Lai family for Sogo vouchers.
  • The Lee family for Sogo vouchers and cash prize.
  • The Haughey family for cash prize.
  • The Donohugh family for Intercontinental buffet vouchers.
  • The Cheng family for the Nintendo Switch.
  • The Chu, Wright, and Cheng families for cash prizes.
  • Thank you to Arthur Li for his speech and presentation of awards.
  • Thank you to the Haughey family for attending the dinner, donating a lucky draw prize, Mrs. Haughey for presenting Part 2 of the lucky draw, and of course Siobhan for the inspiring video.

Awards winners below:
Lim Eden Yi Zhen
Lam Yuk Kiu
Lam Hoi Ching Summer
Standing Emma
Leung Tsz Yui Darryl
Zehner Nathaniel Walter
Payer Emeric Yat Long
Tam Chung Nam
Hsieh Hoi Ying
Ng Chung Hin
Sin Chin Ting
Chu Sarah Ting Yan
Yau Alfred Kap Fong
Short Temana Andrew
Wong Anthea Ching Wun
Kong Man Yi
Chung Cheuk Hei
Ho Ian Yentou
Wong Ho Kiu
Chan Sharron
Chen Cheuk Fung
Woo Hoi Yee
Luk Arnold Bingtse
Chan Yuen Ting
Chang Hong Kiu
Nikulin Aleksandr
Donohugh Sophie
De Pree Nicole
Cheng Ho Wan Jude
Chu Ching Yin Annika
Leong Kin Rong
Lee Si Yao
Lee Jia Jun Jody
Richard Melvyn Chan

Open Water Swimming - Sin Chin Ting
Triathlon - Pauline Courret
Waterpolo - Lew Victor Jorge